DIY Recycled Cardboard Box Bulletin Board


I recently came across a wonderful blog post on Prada For Breakfast all about reinventing bulletin boards so they don’t look like chipboard. Personally, I love the framed ones, but of course I can’t get the frames. Such is life. So I instead turned to the second possibility: fabric. The only problem is getting the corkboard usually used for this purpose. Deciding to abandon the fruitless search for corkboard, I turned to the internet for alternatives…and lo and behold: cardboard boxes?! You can also use rigid packing foam by the way.

The reason I used a cardboard boxes is because of the way the box is made. Pull out an old, large cardboard box. When you look into the edge you should see a bit of corrugated cardboard between two flat sheets. That’s why it’s good for a bulletin board! Spaces for holes 😛

Of course, somethings had to change for me to be able to use the cardboard in the first place. So, here’s my step-by-step on recycling a cardboard box to make a bulletin board.

Step One : Cut It

Decide what size you’re going to make your bulletin board. I wanted to make things easy for myself and have a couple of small ones, so I used the wings as a basic size for each board(I made three small ones). Now comes the hard part. Be warned: you will get cardboard burns doing this!

Open up the cardboard box so that it lays flat, then cut along one edge to lay each face of the cardboard flat on the ground. Pick what you’re going to cut. I cut off three of the wings and a larger face of the rectangular box. I then cut out of the larger rectangle pieces the same size as the wings.

Step Two: Tape is My New Friend

Since one layer of cardboard box is an easy kill for thumb tacks, I had to double layer the bulletin boards. I matched up the pieces by size and then busted out the packing tape. Tape the two pieces together lengthwise (all the way around) and then width-wise. I found the cut edges of the cardboard to be quite sharp, so I sanded them down a bit with an old scourer(you can use sanding paper if you have it). I then taped the edges so that they would stay together, and so that the fabric wouldn’t tear. By taping the edges, I mean I ran the tape around the perimeter of each board and flattened the sides out on to the surfaces.

Step Three: Fabric sans needles!

This is where your imagination and the glue and staples come in. Pick your fabrics! I chose these bits and pieces:

I then picked a scrap of fabric to trim the block color.

Now it’s time to get to actually covering the boards. Make sure you cut out a piece of fabric about 1.5 inches larger on all sides. Then, place the fabric top-side down and the board on top. Take one of the longer edges of the fabric and glue it to the back side of the board. Staple the fabric down for extra measure. Leave to dry, then repeat with the other long side, pulling the fabric to make sure it’s taut.

With the shorter sides, you may have built up a bit too much fabric; feel free to trim some of it off. Leave a bit of fabric to overlap the board so you have a neat corner. Fold the ends of the short sides into a triangle then glue and staple down on to the board. I had some difficulty with the stapling here. Just a warning 😉 So now you have this:

two other boards

And adding a trim to the second one:

Step Four: Hanging Headaches

My method of hanging the boards was extremely flawed and time-consuming, so I recommend buying some sort of adhesive to apply the boards to the wall. Double sided tape maybe?

I stuck bits of string down on the back of the boards and then secured them with a piece of cardboard and LOTS of tape. Voila!

Don’t forget to check out the tutorial this is based on:  diy: bulletin board chic

Uncategorized

6 thoughts on “DIY Recycled Cardboard Box Bulletin Board

  1. Pingback: DIY: Fabric-Covered Bulletin Board « ohmipiaci!

  2. Cool idea…………. Instead, I would use a cool color of felt such as light blue, or light orange or light yellow or even white, then cover it with clear transparent cover (those used on tables – oil skin plastic) and use it as a dry erase board as well….. thanks for the idea…..

    Like

  3. Pingback: Outcast progress; project board – Z. A. Waterstone

Leave a Reply

