Day 18 – Favorite A Thousand Suns Song [30 Days of Linkin Park]


<<< Day 17 <<<

Sorry about the late post, I have some technical difficulties yesterday 😦

Anyway, it should be pretty obvious by now what song I would choose to be my favorite on ATS.

“When They Come for Me”

Linkin Park

This song is somewhat unique in that we get an insight into Mike’s struggle to become a recognized rapper.

And I’m just a student of the game that they taught me
Rocking every stage and every place that they brought me
I’m awfully underrated but came here to correct it

In my opinion, Mike Shinoda is not an awe-inspiring rapper. His style, when compared to 100% rap artists is quite underwhelming. Why? Because Mike does not focus on creating lines that are stand alones, which rappers like Lil Wayne are good at. What I mean by “stand alones” is that the words are general enough, but have enough attitude to be quoted to apply to almost anything. This is not to say all rappers focus on stand alone lines. A lot of rappers use rhythm and/or speed to grab attention like Busta Rhymes. This is also something Mike does not do on a regular basis.

That said, Mike is a great lyricist. That is what makes him different from other rappers. Instead of seeking to make himself sound good alone, he writes lyrics to fit the song or the mood the song creates. He writes lyrics that people can relate to and attach emotion to. Despite this song being about his personal struggles, I was able to pick up on the under dog’s sense of determination. It’s this energy I feed off in this song!

Another quote for you, something I think about every time a former fan says “Linkin Park isn’t Linkin Park anymore”.

Linkin Park - Hovefestivalen 2011

Linkin Park – Hovefestivalen 2011 (Photo credit: NRK P3) http://www.flickr.com/photos/24400573@N03/5882735822

And it seems ugly but it can get worse
’cause even a blueprint is a gift and a curse
’cause once you got a theory of how the thing works
Everybody wants the next thing to be just like the first

– “When They Come for Me”
by Linkin Park on “A Thousand Suns”

>>> Bonus >>>

5 thoughts on “Day 18 – Favorite A Thousand Suns Song [30 Days of Linkin Park]

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Linkin Park Challenge « Otaku Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Day 17 – Favorite Minutes To Midnight Song [30 Days of Linkin Park] « Otaku Ramblings

  3. Pingback: Bonus – Favorite Living Things Song [30 Days of Linkin Park] « Otaku Ramblings

  4. I actually love this album, even though I know it’s not always a fan fave. Cos of that so many fave songs, but at a push mine is Waiting for the End. When They Come For Me though is not a surprise as another fave!

    Like

    • Waiting for the End is such a good song! Definitely the song I have to most emotional attachment to now. Maybe that’s my second favorite? Though I really cannot rank that album >_< thankies for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

