Day 30 – What Linkin Park Means To You? [30 Days of Linkin Park]


<<< Day 29 <<<

[LP]

[LP] (Photo credit: i heart him)( http://www.flickr.com/photos/10564470@N04/3400210919)

We are officially at the end of 30 Days of Linkin Park. And with the end comes the most difficult topic to write about. The best way I can explain this is by telling you about my experience with Linkin Park and music.

I was about 12 years old when I started to look into music and figure out what kinds of music truly appealed to me(rather than what I thought I should like or what other people thought I should like). I discovered Nickelback first-this was in the days of “Savin’ Me” and “Photograph”-and absolutely loved them. Then I remembered hearing “Rollin'” by Limp Biskut when I was eight. Trying to find the song(and not remembering the artists name) and happened to find an old copy of “Hybrid Theory” by Linkin Park. I gave it a listen remembering that elusive artists name started with “L” too.

Basically, I loved it.

Through Linkin Park I discovered not only rock, nu metal and alternative, but also hip-hop. This would start my continuing interest in both genres(rock and hip-hop) and I would often listen to one genre for close to a year before switching to the other. I believe I was about 14 when “Minutes to Midnight” had come out. That was the exact age when I was going through what I refer to as my “rebellious, I-hate-the-world” age. That was the age when I began to see the flaws in people and the world and also the age when I was less interested in others and more self-centered. I was pretty hormonal thanks to Mother Nature. I think that listening to “Hybrid Theory” and “Meteora” gave me an avenue to feel less-than-happy emotions. I think it was a coping mechanism- it being easy to bury myself in the emotions of the song rather than confront the real world.

With the release of “Minutes to Midnight”, coincidentally or not, I began to mature. Things that used to annoy me became things I could laugh at. I could see ways to better the world and I slowly came out of my shell. At the time, I didn’t particularly like MTM, and it’s still not my favorite album. But I could still feel Linkin Park and I could see their point of view. To this day “Hands Held High” is my favorite song from that album.

So suddenly I changed over the years from being a shy and fairly one-dimensional person to the crazy interesting(I hope) one in my group of friends. Then “A Thousand Suns” came out. My mind was blown. I had never heard a concept album and much of the genres infused in the music were alien to me. But the album took me on a journey. After this album came out I can honestly say I listened to it every night for a full month. That is how much I loved it.

After ATS I began listening to indie rock bands, techo dance music and dance music. Then came along Flyleaf and Fire Flight(I had previously heard Evanescence) and even Toby Mac. Keep in mind I am not Christian! On the hip-hop front, people like BOB and Chiddy Bang turned up on my radar.

Now that “Living Things” is out, I’ve even branched out as far as listening to Korean and Japanese music. I don’t even speak either language(though I’m slowly learning Japanese).

To summarize this long-winded explanation:

1. Linkin Park introduced me to so many more styles of music than I would otherwise be able to listen to, or care to listen to.

2. Linkin Park helped me grow up and into a mature, creative person.

I think these two combined means that Linkin Park and their music has now become a part of me and my personality.

So, they mean everything.

4 thoughts on “Day 30 – What Linkin Park Means To You? [30 Days of Linkin Park]

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Linkin Park Challenge « Otaku Ramblings

  2. Pingback: Day 29 – Favorite Linkin Park DVD [30 Days of Linkin Park] « Otaku Ramblings

  3. can’t believe we are at the end – really will miss these posts so make sure you write about LP every now and again. May have to write what LP means to be in a blog one day, cos my human’s relationship with them is a bit long-winded but without it I wouldn’t be the Linkin Park Penguin! 😀 Watch this space…

    Like

Leave a Reply

